Saturday Night Baking…


When Saturday is not over before it starts with family activities, I enjoy watching Saturday morning Food Network shows.  Today April 17, 2010 was one of those days.  This entire weekend for that matter is event free, Sunday night we will be tuned in to watch the Orlando magic begin the run to the championship, lest I digress to my main point.  One of the shows this morning was Tyler Florence and one of the items he made was Berry Scones with an Orange Honey Butter spread.  Well I just so happen to be looking for a breakfast item to make for my wife for a special event.  With that I decided to make these scones but for this event I have replaced the fruit with chocolate chunks and did not make the homemade butter this round.

What are scones you ask, “The scone is a small British quickbread (or cake if recipe includes sugar) of Scottish origin. Scones are especially popular in the United Kingdom …”

Well after a long day of doing nothing but playing on the Wii with my daughter and beginning some items from my to do list, we ventured to the grocery store.  After all the parcels had been emptied and the kitchen was clean, I embarked on making my test batch of chocolate chip scones.  This is the first time I have ever made scones, but I have to say the name sounds complex, but this couldn’t have been easier.  Of course I used a recipe (see below), but execution is as important.  These tasty breaded cakes took about 40 minutes from ingredients to my panel of taste testers plates.  I used my food processor to make the base of the dough and then hand folded in the buttermilk and chocolate chips.  I think the key to getting these things baked perfectly is a very heavy baking sheet for even heating with no hot or cool spots while in the oven.  So without further ado the final product…

The taste testers unanimously agreed that these were fantastic and moving forward to the event version, they will be scaled down in size for a greater yield but the flavor should be as wonderful as their full size cousins.

The recipe:

BERRY BUTTERMILK SCONES

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3 tablespoons sugar, plus more for sprinkling scones
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 6 tablespoons cold unsalted butter, cubed
  • 1 1/2 cups fresh mixed berries, washed and dried (e.g. blueberries, raspberries, blackberries) or other desired filling
  • 3/4 cup buttermilk

Directions

Preheat oven to 400°F.


In a food processor bowl add flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Add cold butter cubes and pulse until you have the texture of coarse bread crumbs. Transfer to a large mixing bowl, then add 3/4 cup of buttermilk and stir to combine. As it comes together add berries and fold dough to incorporate berries but not break them up too much.

Drop spoonfuls of dough onto a parchment lined sheet pan. Using a pastry brush, paint the tops of each scone lightly with buttermilk and sprinkle with sugar.

Bake until golden brown, and nice and puffy, about 17 to 20 minutes. Remove from the oven and transfer to a wire rack.

*I think another alternative could be finely diced apple flesh

Enjoy

One Response to “Saturday Night Baking…”

  1. Michele Brenner Says:

    great job and delicious!

Leave a Reply

